Last Updated: May 26, 2017
Marvel - Maine's Virtual Library
Maine State Library Catalog
*please note that full text access requires entering your Maine State Library ID/barcode number. Please contact the librarian if you have questions.
Over 1 billion records of any type of material, including articles, cataloged by more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
- Art Dicovery Group Catalogue
The successor to Artlibraries.net, and the Virtueller Katalog Kunstgeschichte.
Launched in May 2014, the Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) offers an art-focused research experience within the OCLC WorldCat environment.
- Europeana Collections
Explore 52,219,831 artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe.
- Google Books
The beginning of the "Google Print" Library Project, was made possible by partnerships with Harvard, the University of Michigan, the New York Public Library, Oxford and Stanford. The Book Search interface is available in over 35 languages. Over 10,000 publishers and authors from 100+ countries are participating in the Book Search Partner Program.
- Project Gutenberg
The first producer of free electronic books (ebooks). Over 100,000 free books are available.
- Digital Vatican Library
Provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections of manuscripts and incunabula.
*requires a login & password
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)/International Bibligraphy of Art
The BHA archive on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. Note that the database search includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009, and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), with records that cover 1975–1989.
- Eye & Mind
The IDSVA Journal of Philosophy, Aesthetics, and Art Theory
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
- JSTOR *
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project Muse *
Includes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.